Michigan Education Technology Leaders (METL)

Formed in October 2016, the Michigan Education Technology Leaders (METL) consists primarily of ISD/ESA/RESA senior technology leaders from across the state. The idea behind METL is how to organize and align our collective efforts to work both on issues that we all hold in common and also those larger, transformative, statewide, and systemic issues.

METL meets monthly as a group, but also works collaboratively in liaison roles with other organizations and within a variety of standing and ad hoc working groups.

Mission & Vision

Vision for the Future

The Michigan Education Technology Leaders will be a proactive, key decision-making group that fosters collaboration and efficiencies on projects, issues and policy regarding technology in education.


METL’s mission is to provide leadership and direction focused on technology in education among Michigan’s ISDs/RESAs.

METL Executive Council

The following serve as the METL Excecutive Council until October, 2018.

Chair: Tammy Evans (Oakland Schools)

Vice-Chair: Brian Schupbach (Kalamazoo RESA)

Secretary: Fred Sharpsteen (Mecosta Osceola ISD)

Trustee/Secretary-Elect: Glen Finkel (Kent ISD)

Trustee: Bob Frost (Tuscola ISD)

Note: The Vice-Chair will become the Chair on next years Executive Council.  Likewise, the Trustee/Secretary-Elect will become the Secretary in the following year.

Upcoming Meetings

Contact Information:

For general information about METL please contact:

Tammy Evans (METL Chair)